Aled Davies and Georgie Hermitage  – the former a world record and the latter a championship record - claimed gold on Day 9 of the world para-athletic championships, their second titles at the championships. Exactly a week on from breaking the world record for gold in the T38 200m final, Sophie Hahn also lit up the London Stadium once again with an emphatic victory over 100m.

Accompanied by silver from Kadeena Cox in the T38 100m and Jonathan Broom Edwards in the T44 high jump, the British medal tally rise to 35 ahead of tomorrow’s final day of action.

Now a familiar sight to see acronyms denoting huge throws next to his name on results pages, F42 throws specialist Aled Davies took to the throwing circle aiming to become a triple-triple world champion on the back of gold in the F42 Discus last Sunday morning. The world record holder for both of his events, it would only take two throws for Davies to leave his mark on the event and leave the crowd in awe. Opening up with 16.02m, a modest mark by his standards, the commanding Welshman would unleash something truly special in round two to shut down the competition.

Paralympic champion Kadeena Cox sprinted to golden glory in the T38 400m at the World Para Athletics Championships in London.on Day 8. Britain’s 14th gold medal at the World Para Athletics Championships, Cox’s winning time of 1:02.87 was a season’s best by just under two seconds, and her first world title over the distance.

Running in lane five, the Yorkshire-born athlete showed her intent from the early stages, showing the steely determination which saw her medal in two sports at last summer’s Paralympic Games. Her lead was an impressive one after the first 100m, and it further extended as she turned into the home straight as the adoring crowd roared her on. Coupled with the 200m bronze won on last Saturday, tonight’s gold takes Cox’s global medal tally for athletics to seven, while the 26-year-old still has the 100m to come tomorrow evening.

Racing for just the fifth time this year, Georgie Hermitage broke her own world record as she retained her T37 400m title, while Hannah Cockroft re-wrote the history books as she pushed to her third gold of these championships to become Britain’s most successful athlete at a World Para Athletics Championships with ten world titles. With silver from Kyron Duke added to the bronze medals won by Kare Adenegan, Stephen Miller, Isaac Towers and Richard Chiassaro this evening, the British medal tally now sits at 29 after day 7, exceeding the minimum target of 26 set by UK Sport ahead of the championships.

Opting out of using starting blocks as she broke out of lane two, Georgie Hermitage immediately moved past the athletes in lanes three and four as the field entered the back straight. Motoring well and looking smooth off the bends, the two-time Paralympic champion edged into the home straight in the lead, with the final 100m seeing her sprint away from the field for 1:00.29, a revision of her own T37 world record by 0.25 of a second.

The British team were back in the medals on day six of the World Para Athletics Championships as Maria Lyle and Sammi Kinghorn won bronze medals in the T35 100m and the T53 400m respectively..

Lyle backed her 200m bronze with a lightning start and put herself in podium contention from the outset. Reigning Paralympic Champion Xia Zhou of China powered into a lead within 30m, though, only to be beaten in the final few strides by Isis Holt of Australia reversing the gold-silver positions from Rio and breaking the world record. Lyle, third in Rio, kept her head and her form to motor in for bronze in 14.45. Lyle's participation in the championships had been in doubt due to an inflammation. She admitted, "It was only this week that I was able to run again, last week I couldn’t run at all, I could hardly walk. So it’s been a really good turn-around as I was preparing myself not to be able to run. I managed to finish both races and get a medal and I couldn't ask for more”.

It was another golden day in London for the British team competing in the World Para-Athletics Championships. In the morning, Olivia Breen took gold in the T38 long jump, then the evening saw Sophie Kamlish triumph in the T44 100m and Hannah Cockroft add to her tally of global titles in the T34 800m. There were also bronze medals for Kare Adenegan and Richard Whitehead.

Breen dominated proceedings in emphatic style, opening up with 4.61m before sailing out to 4.72m in round three, a personal best at that point by 2cm. With thoughts of the runway in Rio (and a 12th place finish) long banished, and with the backing track of thousands of screaming schoolchildren, round four saw a huge leap of 4.81m, a jump which distanced her from the rest of the field with two rounds to spare and all but secure the win.

Athletics Zone button

Supporters Zone button

Club Zone button

Go to top