Aled Davies receives awardWe caught up with Aled Davies at the SPAR British Indoor Championships to present him with his Susanna Ingram Award for 2017. Club chairman John Standerline made the presentation.

Aled Davies was the only British male para-athlete to win two gold medals in the IPC World Championships. In the F42 shot put final he broke the world record to win gold, having already triumphed in the discus final. The Susanna Ingram Award is named after a former BASC Committee member and a great supporter of athletics who died from cerebral palsy. It can be awarded to any male and/or female para-athlete that has represented GB during the year.

BASC capsClub member, Mike Fleet, has organised baseball caps (with neck flaps) with the BASC logo in time to be ordered before the Commonwealth Games.

Available in one size fits all, for a minimum order of 20 units, they will cost £12 each, including postage. Please send your order and payment cheque (payable to M Fleet) to: Mike Fleet, 2 Ridge Park, Purley, CR8 3PN. Firm orders need to be received by 6 March (fulfilment of this order is subject to reaching a minimum of 20 orders).
You must include your email and postal address. In the event of insufficient orders being received cheques will be destroyed and therefore not returned and you will be advised accordingly – hence your email address is required.

Greg Rutherford, Robbie Grabarz, Morgan Lake and Elliot Giles were all handed host nation's slots in the British team for the World Indoor Championships next week in Birmingham. Katarina Johnson-Thompson has accepted an IAAF invitation to compete in the pentathlon.

STOP PRESS: Megan Marrs has accepted an IAAF invitation to compete in the championships.

The 31 strong squad is as follows:


60m: CJ Ujah, A Robertson

400m: L Thompson

800m: E Giles

1500m: J Wightman, C O'Hare

This year's SPAR British Indoor Championships had more at stake that usual - places in the Birmingham World Indoor Championships to be held in two weeks time. There was added spice with a sprinkling of top international athletes in the mix including a returning Rutherford, a dominant Muir and sprinters Ujah, Philip and Pozzi. Winners who had achieved the qualification marks would be guaranteed world places, with runners up hoping to persuade selectors to give them the second slot.

All the sprint action was completed on Saturday with CJ Ujah winning the men's flat title from Robertson. Kilty withdrew from the final and Edoburun false started in the heats. In the women's event, Asha Philip took the title from Daryll Neita and Bianca Williams. In the hurdles, Andrew Pozzi won the final despite being left in the blocks, with David King in second place. The women's sprint hurdles saw a surprise result with megan Marrs knocking half a second off her PB this season finishing just outside world championship qualification time.

Sir Mo FarahMo Farah once again topped the members poll for BASC Athlete of the Year. Sir Mo was a clear winner following his world championships gold and silver medals, Diamond League title and third conscutive Great North Run win. Over 450 members voted, with half backing Farah for the award. World relay silver medalist Dina Asher-Smith was runner-up, and Diamond League champion and world relay gold medalist CJ Ujah in third place.

Other athletes on the shortlist were: Aled Davies, Nethaneel Mitchell-Blake, Sammi Kinghorn and Nick Miller. Members were also able to vote for other athletes, and a further ten received votes behind the shortlisted athletes. These included Laura Muir, Callum Hawkins and Eilish McColgan, all of whom had good seasons.

Athletics Zone button

Supporters Zone button

Club Zone button

Go to top