The shortlist has been announced for the BASC Athlete of the Year 2018. Seven athletes and para-athletes - Dina Asher-Smith, Aled Davies, Sophie Hahn, Matthew Hudson-Smith, Katarina Johnson-Thompson, Nick Miller and Laura Muir - have been unveiled for the vote by club members. (Find out more about the shortlisted athletes).

Voting instructions have been sent to members and they have until 21 October to make their choice. If members disagree with the shortlist, they have the option to vote for any other British athlete or para-athlete that has impressed them this season. The top three will be announced at the club's Annual Dinner in November.

As has successfully been the case over the last few years, this year’s Annual General Meeting has been scheduled to be held on the Saturday of the annual dinner weekend at Mercure Brandon Hall Hotel, Coventry. The AGM will start promptly at 1.15pm and should finish not later than 2.00pm.

The AGM is open to all members and members are welcome to attend the AGM whether or not they are attending the annual dinner weekend. A light buffet will be served before the AGM from approximately 12:30pm. Details and agenda will be sent to all members with the Autumn edition of Backtrack.

We are delighted to announce that BASC will be presenting Tim Duckworth and Imani-Lara Lansiquot with Breakthrough Awards for their performances at the European Championships!

Both athletes took 5th places in their individual events - Imani ran 11.14s just three hundredths of a second outside her PB from the Muller Anniversary Games, and she also won a relay gold. It was Tim's first meet in a senior British vest, topping 8000 points. His score ranks him behind Daley Thompson and Dean Macey in British major championships decathlon performances.

We are delighted to announce that Niamh Emerson has won the British Athletics Supporters Club Breakthrough Award for her performance in the Gold Coast Commonwealth Games heptathlon. Niamh took the bronze medal behind Katarina Johnson-Thompson's gold.

Nick Miller has won the BASC Athlete of the Meet Award for the Commonwealth Games after a poll among supporters on Twitter. Nick broke the British Record and the 80m barrier to win hammer gold. The poll began with selecting from male and female performances - Katarina Johnson-Thompson won the female poll - before a play-off between the top two male and two female athletes.

It was heartbreak for Callum Hawkins as he collapsed when well in the lead of the Commonwealth Games men’s marathon just 2km from the finish line. Callum broke away in the second half of the race, and was looking good for gold with a lead of almost two minutes. But the brutal heat put paid to that. With athletes dropping out in front of him, compatriot Robbie Simpson pressed on for a well-earned bronze medal.

In the T54 wheelchair marathons, England’s John Smith took silver, with Simon Lawson and Jade Jones winning bronze medals. Callum Hall came 7th in the men’s T54, and in the women’s race Sammi Kinghorn was fourth and Nicole Emerson sixth.

Athletics Zone button

Supporters Zone button

Club Zone button

Go to top