British Athletics has today named a largely developmental team for the European Athletics Team Championships in Lille Métropole on 23-25 June, which is headlined by Rio 2016 Olympic bronze medallist Sophie Hitchon.

With so much attention on the London World Championships it would be easy to overlook this team event, which has brought so many memorable moments in the past. With the World Class Performance Programme (WCPP) athletes granted leave to focus on qualifying for the World Championships at the British Team Trials (which take place the following weekend in Birmingham on 1-2 July), it gives a great opportunity to many of our younger athletes. Who can forget the breakthrough performance of Jarryd Dunn, and now others have the chance to follow in his footsteps.

With limited opportunities for field athletes to compete against top class competition ahead of London 2017, Lille provides the perfect chance for many to gauge where they stand against Europe’s top throwers and jumpers.  Olympic medallist in the Hammer, Sophie Hitchon leads the way for Britain and will be joined by European medallist Jazmin Sawyers in the women’s Long Jump, Olympians Morgan Lake and Chris Baker in the High Jump, along with fellow Rio 2016 alumni Jade Lally, Nick Miller and Luke Cutts in the Discus, Hammer and Pole Vault respectively.  While Shara Proctor, 2015 World silver medallist in the Long Jump, moves to the Triple Jump.

Also included in the team are near full strength relay squads, which include Rio 2016 Olympic bronze medallists from both the 4x100m (Asha Philip, Desiree Henry and Darryll Neita) and 4x400m (Emily Diamond, Anyika Onoura and Eilidh Doyle).  On the men’s side 2015 4x400m World bronze medallists Rabah Yousif, Jarryd Dunn and Delano Williams are selected, along with European Indoor 60m Champion Richard Kilty and sub-ten runners CJ Ujah and Adam Gemili in the 4x100m.

The British Athletics team for the European Athletics Team Championships:


100m: Harry Aikines-Aryeetey

200m: Sam Miller

400m: Dwayne Cowan

800m:James Bowness

1500m: Jake Wightman

3000m: Marc Scott

5000m: Nick Goolab

3000m steeplechase: Rob Mullett

110m hurdles:David Omoregie

400m hurdles: Jack Green

High Jump:Chris Baker

Pole Vault: Luke Cutts

Long Jump: Dan Bramble

Triple Jump: Ben Williams

Shot: Scott Lincoln

Discus: Zane Duquemin

Hammer: Nick Miller

Javelin: James Whiteaker


Adam Gemili

Zharnel Hughes

Richard Kilty

Danny Talbot

Chijindu Ujah

Harry Aikines-Aryeetey


Delano Williams

Rabah Yousif

Jarryd Dunn

Matthew Hudson-Smith

Cameron Chalmers



100m:Corinne Humphreys

200m: Finette Agyapong

400m: Mary Iheke

800m: Katie Snowden

1500m: Rhianwedd Price

3000m: Harriet Knowles-Jones

5000m: Calli Thakery

3000m steeplechase: Lennie Waite

100m hurdles: Alicia Barrett

400m hurdles: Eilidh Doyle

High Jump: Morgan Lake

Pole Vault: Sally Peake

Long Jump: Jazmin Sawyers

Triple Jump: Shara Proctor

Shot Put: Amelia Strickler

Discus: Jade Lally

Hammer: Sophie Hitchon

Javelin: Jo Blair


Asha Philip

Desiree Henry

Daryll Neita

Imani Lansiquot

Shannon Hylton


Emily Diamond

Anyika Onuora

Laviai Nielsen

Kirsten McAslan

Zoey Clark

Eilidh Doyle

Athletics Zone button

Supporters Zone button

Club Zone button

Go to top